Jupiter meets Uranus : a reader’s challenge

One of the scary delights of writing for the Web is that you never, ever know how readers are going to receive what you say. I have been fortunate so far in having a predominantly positive, informative and I hope useful dialogue with my readers. However, not long after writing the following article, the last sentence of the paragraph I quote below got one of my readers, CJ, going. He really put me in my place by email – and after some deliberation I responded. He asked me to publish my response to him. So I have done so. Let me know what you think!

Jupiter met Uranus, 8.6.10 : Calm down – we’re still here!

“……It is an ancient human tendency to imagine that the end of the world or civilisation as we know it is just around the corner. Maybe it is – or maybe not. We don’t really KNOW what the upcoming Jupiter/Uranus conjunction and its attendant pattern will bring. It certainly represents a perfect backdrop onto which to project our burgeoning collective anxieties about the deteriorating condition of our culture and of our planet.  But human life has always been turbulent, dangerous and often fatal, regardless of where the planets happen to be.
So can we all calm down and just get on with life?……..”


******************

To which CJ responded on June 14 2010:
HI ANNE !
JUST FINISHED READING THE JUPITER MET URANUS !
I LIVE IN FLORIDA, PERHAPS THE GULF OIL SPILL…JUPITER ABUNDANCE, AND THE URANUS TOTALLY UNEXPECTED,TRULY FITS THIS EVENT.??
TALK ABOUT A”deteriorating condition …..”  OF OUR PLANET…&…. “The energy created is dynamic, unique, door-opening, pioneering, fluid, quite unstable…..”  I GUESS THIS SITUATION, IS DYNAMIC, UNIQUE, DEFINITELY FLUID, AND EXTREMELY UNSTABLE !
I JUST AM NOT SURE HOW WE CAN CALM DOWN AND GET ON WITH LIFE…PERHAPS YOU CAN EXPLAIN, & I AM NOT ATTEMPTING TO BE SARCASTIC, IT IS JUST SUCH A GRAVE SITUATION, BEYOND OUR CONTROL, I AM HOPING YOU MIGHT HAVE SOME PEARLS OF WISDOM YOU MIGHT BE ABLE TO SHARE. I TRULY BELIEVE ASTROLOGY CAN SHOW US SOME ALTERNATIVE CHOICES….
CAN YOU GIVE SOME ASTROLOGICAL EVENTS APPROACHING WHICH MAY GIVE RELIEF TO THIS SITUATION, BEFORE A YEAR?
I THANK YOU, AND WELCOME YOUR INPUT, AS I AM SURE MANY IN THE GULF WOULD .
VERY BEST REGARDS,
C.J
To which I replied on 15 June:

Thank you for your very honest and direct email. The advice in the
article to calm down and simply get on with life is my attempt to
counter some of the hysteria flying around in the astro-blogosphere
and elsewhere, regarding upcoming planetary patterns. It is my way of
reminding people – especially astrologers who can get too grandiose at
times – that life has always been difficult on this earth, one way or
another, whether one knows astrology or not.

But you have also put me in my place. If I were in your location, I
would find it desperately difficult to calm down and just get on with
life at the heart of one of the worst environmental crises ever. So I
fully acknowledge that.

My interest is much more in observation of the planetary pattern than
in prediction, as you will probably have gathered from the research I
did in 1997 and the project I am now embarking on to study the impact
symbolically of the 2010/11 conjunctions. So if you want prediction,
then other astrologers are keener to do that than I.

Theodore White, At Global Astrology blog,
http://globalastrologyblog.blogspot.com/, might be a starting point.
You could also have a look at StarIQ – www.stariq.com who write about
current affairs.

Regarding pearls of wisdom…..that is a tall order!
Jupiter/Uranus in Aries speaks of pioneering leaps into exploring
entirely new territory, as a consequence of enforced change through
the pressure of painful and difficult circumstances (the conjunction
is set in the dark and threatening context of Saturn/Pluto energy)
. So
perhaps we can learn something new as a human community from this
desperate and destructive set of circumstances in the Gulf of Mexico.
Perhaps deep oil drilling will be slowed, made more difficult, or
halted. Perhaps more resources will be ploughed with greater urgency
and innovation into renewable energy sources. And perhaps – the
biggest challenge of all !  –
all of us will truly begin to face the
consequences of our addiction to oil and its double-edged benefits –
and  governments (with our consent) will push us into cutting back on
our wasteful consumption of an increasingly scarce resource.

At a personal level, I see no point in going through s–t unless I
learn from it. Collectively, maybe we will learn something from going
through this s–t. That, I think, is the optimism I might be inclined
to draw astrologically from this current awful crisis.

I hope you can take something from this response, CJ, inadequate
though I feel it is.

With all good wishes

Anne

…..I wondered whether he would reply, and waited with more than a little trepidation…..

on 18 June, from C.J:

Anne,
Thank You !  I greatly appreciate the “observation” over “predictions”.
But, I think many of your followers could gain & appreciate the paragraph below…”pearls of Wisdom…”.   I hope you can put that…. in print, as it could perhaps benefit many.
******************
I really appreciated his generous response. The whole correspondence very forcefully reminded me that what we say as commentators really has an impact. Just because we only ever hear from a few of many readers, we should always try to be mindful of the effect our words may have. I think that astrologers should be especially aware of this….

Jupiter Meets Uranus

Jupiter Meets Uranus

900 words copyright Anne Whitaker/ C.J. 2010

Licensed under Creative Commons – for conditions see Home Page

8 responses to “Jupiter meets Uranus : a reader’s challenge

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  2. it heartens me to know that the strength of your voice CJ is being heard and that you Anne are willing to go there

    I could leave it at that – however, I feel this exchange deserves much more, so….

    when it comes to the daunting challenges we are encountering in the world it is certainly important to be reminded that, after all of astrology’s insights, it is on the ground that we fight the real battles, both personal and collective

    we don’t necessarily choose the s..t we find ourselves in, but, we have some choice in how we respond – astrology can inform our choices, empower us – and goodness knows we need that now – are ‘we’ facing a struggle – do we need a wake-up call to the ‘battle’ that has begun raging around us…

    a call to ‘calm’ may be innappropriate to and detract from the reality asking to be paid attention to and lived through – it may also serve to ‘centre’, so that ‘a warrior’ may become her/his dance more fully, and win the day….or, even, fail magnificently, which is no dishonour – all of our small victories count – every post is a potential pearl

    calm/centredness also = objectivity, being earthed…..and so, CJ, thank you – the oil-spill has delivered a battle to our very door – none are exempt – none – we are all in this together – our choices count

    astrologers speak from a position of ‘authority’, hopefully made humble through ‘our’ humanity, but, ultimately, one of service – and when dealing with ‘traumatic’ issues and events no speaker in a ‘position of authority’ can afford to forget that ‘the juice is in the tragedy’ and that, for those swimming in ‘the juice’, it can be both poison, and elixir – here-in rests responsibility and the test of authority (and astrology) as an agent of healing and evolution – eh? Mr Obama – eh? Mr Hayward et al…..

    it is true, some astrologers have been fore-telling and thus fore-arming us for a long time – it is good to access the broader mundane view – and, in following the links suggested above (+ check Richard Nolle’s site), I have found they add to a balanced perspective, so long as we can provide the balance – perspective wise, the astrologers are also telling us that the true lasting benefits of our current struggle will become apparent circa 2020 onwards – nothing within that time-frame is insignificant

    it is up to us to rally, and in my humble opinion ‘Jupiter meets Uranus’ can be seen as a rallying call, no matter the arena we find ourselves in

    …….as Alice Walker reminds us, ‘we are the ones we have been waiting for’ – my dearest hope is that our children will be able to see us, and themselves, in this light

    as a passing note, a dearly beloved diviner friend now departed once said,
    ‘we are the experiment’ – in the best possible sense I believe that your work with the Jupiter/Uranus signature is conducted in this spirit Anne – and, it is also, plainly, evolutionary healing work in which we are all involved

    Rob

    • Rob, many thanks for this even-handed, thoughtful response, and for your affirmation of my and CJ s efforts to grapple with and cope with challenges so big none of us can even BEGIN fully to realise their implications….

  3. http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/environment/energy-smart/obamas-2b-subsidy-for-solar-energy-20100704-zvxh.html
    Along the lines of what you spoke of as the “positive” effects of the oil spill. William

    • William, thanks for this piece of positive news in the midst of so much negativity re the Gulf of Mexico disaster. “out of evil, good may come” indeed…I commend this article to my readers.

  4. Turn to thezeitgeistmovement.com…it offers a new way to relate to the planet we live on..i guess it gives me a underlying purpose for my life. This movement represents this Jupiter/Uranus conjunction well.

    “Jupiter/Uranus in Aries speaks of pioneering leaps into exploring entirely new territory, as a consequence of enforced change through the pressure of painful and difficult circumstances (the conjunction is set in the dark and threatening context of Saturn/Pluto energy)”

    Thank you, this paragraph really sums up the energy I am feeling right now; it is really difficult. But I am happy I am not alone in all this.

    Just to include some things that happened to me in April/May:
    Broke off a relationship
    Was in a car accident
    Change resident

    • Dear GirlNeptune

      thanks for the link which I will now check out; for sharing your challenges during April and May 2010 as the conjunction build-up gained momentum – and for letting me know that my words have been of some help in clarifying the current energy field and its impact on you.

      Do keep following “Tales from the Wild Ride”, currently running on the Home Page. You will see that many of us are in the same pitching boat on stormy seas. (me included!)

Leave a Reply

